The Santa Barbara International Film Festival continues its tradition of honoring the year’s standout performers by presenting The 2014 Virtuosos Award to Daniel Brühl (Rush), Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is The Warmest Color), Oscar Isaac (Inside Llewyn Davis), Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station), Brie Larson (Short Term 12), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) and June Squibb (Nebraska), it was announced today by SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling. The Award presentation, sponsored by Travel + Leisure, will take place Tuesday, February 4, 2014 at the Arlington Theatre at the 29th edition of the festival, which runs January 30 – February 9, 2014.

The Virtuosos Award was created to recognize a select group of actors who have distinguished themselves through performances in film this past year. Previous recipients for this award include Ann Dowd, Elle Fanning, Ezra Miller, Eddie Redmayne, Omar Sy, Quvenzhane Wallis, Demian Bichir, Rooney Mara, Melissa McCarthy, Shailene Woodley, Andy Serkis, Patton Oswalt, Andrew Garfield, John Hawkes, Lesley Manville, Hailee Steinfeld, Jacki Weaver, Emily Blunt, Carey Mulligan, Saoirse Ronan, Gabourey Sidibe, Michael Stuhlbarg, Casey Affleck, Marion Cotillard, Viola Davis, Rosemarie DeWitt, Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Melissa Leo, James McAvoy, Ellen Page, Amy Ryan and Michael Shannon.

Comments Durling, “2013 has been a banner year for movies, and these groups of actors are a vital representation of what made those films so triumphant.”

The actors who were selected to be recognized for their exceptional performances are: Daniel Brühl who expertly embodied Formula 1 racer Niki Lauda, infusing him with the requisite passion and ego in Rush; Adèle Exarchopoulos for her courageous and transformative role as a 15 year old on a journey to adulthood who experiences true love for the first time in Blue Is The Warmest Color, Oscar Isaac as the title character in Inside Llewyn Davis who expertly brings to life this struggling musician with everything seemingly working against him, even at times working against himself; Michael B. Jordan for his indelible performance in Fruitvale Station, where he leads as Oscar Grant III, an unarmed 22-year-old who was fatally shot in an Oakland train station, Brie Larson who mesmerizes the audience in her first leading role as a teacher in the revealing, rich, honest film Short Term 12; Jared Leto for his brave and moving performance as Rayon, a transgender AIDS patient in Dallas Buyers Club and June Squibb for her breakthrough, scene stealing performance as Bruce Dern’s wife in this year’s critically-acclaimed Nebraska.