10-10-10 Student Filmmaking and Screenwriting Competition

10-10-10

101010

What is 10-10-10?

(10 Days – 10 Crews – 10 Films) The 10-10-10 Student Screenwriting and Filmmaking Competition started in 2004 and is a highly successful educational program developed by SBIFF to bring together student screenwriters, student filmmakers and industry professionals in an effort to encourage and assist the next generation of filmmakers. Through these two competitions, students produce 10 films over a period of 10 days and are judged on both Filmmaking and Screenwriting criteria. Since its inception, 10-10-10 has given a public forum to hundreds of student screenwriters and filmmakers and generated a wealth of original creative work.

Who qualifies to participate in the Screenwriting Competition?

Students currently enrolled in Santa Barbara area high schools and colleges are invited to submit a 10 page sample of their best writing – fiction, screenplay or stage play –to their school’s representative along with the Submission Form

. The representative will then choose the five best samples to be submitted to the 10-10-10 Student Screenwriting Competition judges for final selection. Five finalists will be chosen from the high school level and five from the college level. These finalists will then be given a screenwriting assignment and paired with an industry professional to mentor them during the writing process. Finalists will meet with their mentor regularly and submit their final draft in January 2014. The 10 student screenplays will then be matched with a category-appropriate filmmaking finalist from the 10-10-10 Student Filmmaking Competition, who will direct a 10-minute film during the 10 days of the 29th Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

Who qualifies to participate in the Filmmaking Competition?

Students currently enrolled in Santa Barbara area high schools and colleges (see the list of participating schools) are invited to submit a five minute sample of their best filmmaking efforts – on DVD – to their school’s representative along with the Submission Form

. The sample should be a complete film or representative sample of a single film (not a reel or compilation). The representative will then choose the five best samples to be submitted to the 10-10-10 Student Filmmaking Competition Jury of industry professionals for final selection. Five finalists will be chosen from the high school level and five from the college level. Each finalist will then be matched with a screenplay from an appropriate level Screenwriting finalist from the 10-10-10 Student Screenwriting Competition. They are then responsible to compile a complete filmmaking crew and produce a 10-minute film during the 10 days of the 29th Santa Barbara International Film Festival. Filmmakers are expected to collaborate with screenwriters during production and are encouraged to include the writers as an integral part of the production. Filmmakers may be as creative as they like with their films but must remain faithful to the screenwriter’s vision and text.

For the Screenwriting and Filmmaking Schedule and Rules for Entry please click here.

10-10-10 Schools & Representatives

College Representatives Email
Mike Stinson SBCC stinson@sbcc.edu
Joe Palladino UCSB jpalladino@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
Tracy Trotter Brooks Institute ttrotter@brooks.edu
Guy Smith Antioch University gsmith1@antioch.edu


High School Representatives Email
John Dent Dos Pueblos High School jdent@sbsdk12.org
Regina Freking Alta Vista rfreking@pipeline.sbcc.edu
Aaron Solis San Marcos High School asolis@sbsdk12.org
Dan Yokubaitis Bishop Diego High School dyokubaitis@bishopdiego.org
AJ Henning Santa Barbara High (MAD) ajhenning@gmail.com
Tyler Hodges Laguna Blanca School thodges@lagunablanca.org
Alison Strelich The Anacapa School alison@anacapaschool.org
Kevin Redick San Roque School kredick@sanroque.net



If you do not see your school listed and are currently enrolled in a high school or college in the area, please email Mickey Duzdevich, Programming Manager at mickey@sbfilmfestival.org.

High school and college contestants will compete within their own categories. An overall winner of the 10-10-10 Student Filmmaking Competition will be chosen from each category. Similarly, an overall winner of the 10-10-10 Student Screenwriting Competition will also be chosen from each category. Note: all work will be judged on its own merit regardless of school affiliation.

The contending 10-10-10 films will be screened and judged at 1 PM on Sunday, February 9th, 2014. The winners will be announced and their films will later be screened at the Closing Night Ceremony at the Arlington Theatre.



For the Screenwriting and Filmmaking Schedule and Rules for Entry please click here.

For additional information on 10-10-10 Student Screenwriting/Filmmaking Competitions, contact:

Mickey Duzdevich
Programming Manager / 10-10-10 Coordinator
Santa Barbara International Film Festival
Mickey@sbfilmfestival.org
Office: 805.963.0023 X 224