Ryan Gosling was honored with the 16th annual Kirk Douglas Award For Excellence In Film on Saturday, January 13th at a Black-Tie dinner at the Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara. The event benefits Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s year-round educational programs and was the most successful fundraiser in SBIFF’s history.

Since 2006, the annual Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film has been awarded to a lifelong contributor to cinema through their work in front of the camera, behind, or both. Past honorees are Ryan Gosling, Michelle Yeoh, Martin Scorsese, Hugh Jackman, Dame Judi Dench, Warren Beatty, Jane Fonda, Jessica Lange, Forest Whitaker, Robert De Niro, Michael Douglas, Harrison Ford, Quentin Tarantino, Ed Harris, and John Travolta.